Deleting an invoice that already has an invoice number assigned to it could result in ‘gaps’ in your invoice numbering. With the invoice setting ‘Delete invoices with invoice numbers assigned’, you can indicate whether invoices with an invoice number can be deleted.
The setting relates to sales invoices (including direct invoices, credit invoices and POS invoices). When this setting is checked and the user has the function right ‘Delete invoices’, then this user can delete invoices including the invoices that already have an invoice number assigned.
When this option is unchecked and the user has the function right ‘Delete invoices’, then this user can only delete invoices that have no invoice number assigned. In that case, the button ‘Delete’ will not be active in the following screens:
- [Invoice, Entries, Invoices]
- [Invoice, Entries, Authorise]
- [Invoice, Entries, Direct invoices]
Invoices that have been printed final can never be deleted regardless of whether this setting has been checked or not.